Tot(e)ally Cute!

17 May

As you may or may not know I work for The Life Craft and the last two Fridays we have been testing out our Tote Bag class. As a result I can now make them with my eyes closed. A friend of mine has a birthday coming up and she just so happens to be a fan of eco friendly shoppers and I just so happened to find some super super cute fabric in Ikea last week with Vonnie. Today the fabric became the bag, what do you think?

Next time I’m in ikea i’ll be buying more to make myself one I think. The upholstery fabric is the perfect weight for this purpose.

This is a really simple pattern and a great place to start if you’re just learning how to sew. Once you’ve made a tote bag you don’t forget the process, just like riding a crafty bike :p. The Life Craft will be running loads of sewing classes like this, from beginners classes, to pattern cutting for those advances sew-sters(sew-ers doesnt really work), if you’re interested you should get in touch!

I hummed and hawed about posting this before Peatbogs birthday. She’s not really a massive fan of the internet but I have a horrible feeling today will be the day she logs into twitter(for the first time), finds my brand new blog and reads all about one of her birthday presents. How typical would that be?

7 Responses to “Tot(e)ally Cute!”

  1. Julie May 17, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    Thats lovely fabric Jenny!

  2. Patchwork Queen May 17, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    The bag really is great…cant believe that the fabric came from Ikea. I have a whole stash of old ikea buys up in my cupboard….might have to go and see what new things they have now I’ve seen this.

    • jenwhydotcom May 18, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

      Yeh go look them out! I’ve got some fabric left and I plan to cut out all the mad animals and applique everything I own! πŸ™‚

  3. Vonnie May 18, 2010 at 6:28 am #

    I love this – it’s come out so (sew!) well with the fabric. Hope she loves it too πŸ™‚

  4. Lisa-Marie May 18, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    Obviously you are a sewing genius, but it looks fab Jenny!

  5. Susan. May 19, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    When is Sew Spartan happening?

    • jenwhydotcom May 19, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

      I’ve stil not taken him out the box!I think he may be VERY VERY valuable one day :p

Leave a Reply

