Nana Would Be Proud!

21 Jun

I’m not the most domestic of people, I’m not that interested in cooking – more interesting in eating – and when it comes to cakes i’ve always had a strict eating only rule. In my humble family of four I am the only one with a horrendous sweet tooth. My mum is great cook, she makes the best spagetti and a mean curry(albeit with 100 birdseye chillies!!) but she rarely makes anything sweet so i’ve never really baked with my mum. However, I have the fondest of memories baking with my nana. Like any typical doting grandmother she would bake me and my brother Andrew cakes and sweet treats until the cows came home. Just to make life difficult for her Andrew and I would always request two completely different typesof cake. Andrew always wanted a plain sponge with white icing and I always asked for caramel shortcake. Our nana never said no(although she should have!) and she was a fantastic baker.

I have never summoned this great cake baking gene(the Nana gene if you will :p) until now!

This past year I have witness my friends Peatbog and She-ra become increasing interested in the art of baking whilst I listened in convinced I was no good. I’m not sure why I had such a defeatist attitude from the outset. It took a book of cakes and a kick up the arse from Vonnie for me to try my first cake.

First I bought myself a nice push out cake tin and then I had a good look through  Good Food Magazines 101Cakes & Bakes and picked the Blueberry Cheesecake Gateau. Nothing like running before you can walk eh?  Its sponge with a lime cream cheese filling and topping. Well I think I did quite well, what do you think?

Granted this doesn’t look like the picture, and my blueberries were drooping of the edge but it tasted great!

Here is the recipe:

225g self raising flour
1tsp baking powder
200g caster sugar
200g softened butter
4 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1tbsp milk

For icing:
400g medium fat soft cheese
Grated zest fo 2 limes
Juice of 1 lime
100g icing sugar
200g blueberries

1. Preheat oven 180C/gas 4/ fan assisted 160C. Butter and line the base of a deep cake tin.

2.Put the flour, baking powder, sugar, butter, eggs and vanilla into a large bowl and beat with an electric mixer on low speed until everything is mixed together. Increae the speed and mix for 2 mins. Stir in the milk.

3. Spoon the mixture into the tin and level the top. Bake the cake for an hour, until the cake springs back when lightly pressed, cool, then split into 2 or 3 layers

4. Beat the cheese until soft, the beat in the lime zest and juic and the icing sugar. Sandwich the cake back together with 2/3 of the cheese mixture and spread the rest on top. Arrange the blueberries close together on top of the cake.

(taken from 101 Cakes and Bakes)

I reckon my Nana would be proud 🙂

I’m looking for more tried and tested cake recipes, so if you have any post them in a comment for me to try out!

9 Responses to “Nana Would Be Proud!”

  1. Susan. June 21, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    Wahay! A mention, haha. We should have a cake party before I leave /sob xxx

  2. Susan. June 21, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    Also that cake looks amazing 😀 Your orange cake was lavvvely as well ❤ xxx

  3. Lyns June 21, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    I can confirm that the droopy blueberries only added to the homemade loveliness, it was yummy!

  4. Vonnie June 21, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    Oh my God this looks AMAZING! Well done pet! xx

  5. Kirsty June 21, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    Get a copy of Nigella Lawson’s ‘How to be a Domestic Goddess’. Nothing I have made from that book has failed…and everything has tasted amazing.

    • jenwhydotcom June 21, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

      Nice! I’ll put that on my book list after the third twilight book which I want so! 🙂

  6. Eileen June 23, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    That looks so good! Also recommend Rachel Allen – Bake if you’re thinking of getting some cook books xx

  7. Lisa-Marie June 24, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    It looks brilliant jenny! I like the sound of the icing, mmmm. Fell free to try anything on my blog and let me know how you got on!

    • JenWHY June 24, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

      Oh yeh, ill def have to head over and try something out. That chocolate cake you made was amazing!x

Leave a Reply

