The Perspective of a Student

27 Jan

Now I’ve been in education for the majority of my life and I’ve always enjoyed it. I love learning new things and have always been a student of some institution or another. When I started working at The Life Craft  I thought I’d be the most understanding of teachers as I was so used to being the student. I wanted to make sure all my classes were just as fun as they were informative and that no one would ever feel nervous or anxious in the run up to their visit to The Life Craft. I also thought that my completely unpretentious and unintimidating attitude and exterior would be enough to put participants at ease.  However a recent experience has given me a brand new perspective.

I’ve been learning to snowboard on and off for about  two years. I started absolute beginner lesson at Bellahousten dry slope, then found transferring my skills onto snow difficult. This knocked my confidence big time and the snowboard went into the attic(where most of your sewing machines live right?). Anyone who has ever participated in any of my classes at The Life Craft will know that I go on and on about confidence being the key to progress and I believe this applies to anything, whether it be sewing, or applying for that new job! I’m always telling people to have belief in their own ability and watch their feelings of inadequacy melt away but for some reason when it came to snowboarding I did not practise what I preached.

I realised this when the shoe was firmly put on the other foot. I went from tutor to got-no-confidence-omg-im-sorry-i-ever-came-to-this-lesson-are-you-sure-im-intermediate. My god I had the absolute fear when I booked the class online and had to check the big scary INTERMEDIATE box. Despite meeting the minimum requirements I still felt completely and utterly inadequate.

So what did I do on the morning of the lesson? Faked it! I drove all the was to Snozone at Xscape telling myself that I was actually perfectly good at snowboarding. I imagined the most impatient of tutors and my reminding him that I had paid good money for his time and expertise and that I was ready to learn. And you know what it worked! I won’t lie there was at least one (gigantic) butterfly in my stomach but the class was great! The tutor was perfectly patient and I wasn’t removed from the premises and ordered to never return for being crap(SHOCK HORROR).

This experience gave me a greater understanding of the inner monologue of our lovely customer at The Life Craft as they debate whether they are in fact suited to a class. My advice? Read the requirements, do you meet them? Kind of? Then go for it! Whats the worst that could happen? If you would rather have more reassurance then why not phone us, or pop in and see us, we’re all rather lovely, completely unintimidating and we’ll be able to help you with any of those crafty confidence issues. So go for it, reach for the sky and you might hit the ceiling 😉

3 Responses to “The Perspective of a Student”

  1. Konnie Kapow! January 27, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    You are a wonderful tutor Jenny, I was really nervous when I did my first class with you. Like you say though, WHY?! What’s the worst that could happen? That’s kind of been my mantra lately. Anyway, I thoroughly recommend your classes and teaching style!

    Jamie did the like thing for me too!
    Xxx

  2. Fiona White January 27, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Thanks Jenny. You have made me a mean hot chocolate but more importantly you have given me some confidence when returning to sewing after xx years (I dare not say how many lol). Reading your blog has reminded me of the importance of that inner dialogue and how you can change your mind set by thinking good things. Look forward to reading about your success on the slopes as I have already vored for you in the competition.

    • JenWHY February 15, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      Aaw thanks Fiona! Half the battle of anything is with yourself thats for sure!x

Leave a Reply

